shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

FRG News

Page address: https://grad.mnsu.edu/research/rasp/findfunding/internal/frg.html

The purpose of a Faculty Research Grant (FRG) at Minnesota State Mankato is to encourage excellence in research, scholarship, and creative activities among Minnesota State Mankato faculty by providing seed funding for faculty projects. These grants support faculty initiatives in all disciplines including basic, applied, and pedigogical research and creative projects. The Faculty Research Committee expects that grantees will explore external funding opportunities to continue their work. 

 Addition of External Funding Requirement Rationale

 FRGs were originally designed to provide faculty members with seed money to carry out research or creative projects with the ultimate goal of securing external funding.  Faculty members are now required to describe plans for pursuing and securing external funding, using their FRG-funded research or creative projects.  Grants or other external funding endeavors can come from any source (local, regional, national, international) and can be of any dollar amount.  Faculty members are not required to have secured external funding at the time the FRG report is due, however faculty members must demonstrate substantial progress toward securing external funding.  

Applicants are encouraged to contact the appropriate College representative for guidance on proposal development (see list below).

2018–2019 FRG Application Deadlines: 

Fall Semester: Tuesday, October 2, 2018 - 4:30 p.m.

Spring Semester: Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 4:30 p.m.

Attend a workshop to learn more information - Tuesday, September 11th, 2018, from 10am-11am in CSU 204

[PDF] FRG Application Guidelines (275 KiB) - NEWLY REVISED April 2018

[DOC] FRG Cover Page, Budget, and Checklist (70 KiB) - NEWLY REVISED April 2018

FRG Final Reports

[PDF] Faculty Research Committee Calendar (170 KiB)


                               Faculty Research Committee

                                                             AY 2018/2019

       
COLLEGE NAME PHONE EMAIL
Allied Health & Nursing  TBD
 
 
Arts & Humanities Julie Kerr-Berry
2125

julie.kerr-berry@mnsu.edu

Business  Kristin Scott
 2324
kristin.scott@mnsu.edu

Education 

Rick Auger

5658

richard.auger@mnsu.edu

Library Services Heidi Southworth
5066
heidi.southworth@mnsu.edu

Science, Engineering, & Technology

Rachel Cohen (Co-chair)

1256

rachel.cohen@mnsu.edu

Social & Behavioral Sciences Karla Lassonde  1561 karla.lassonde@mnsu.edu
       
ADMINISTRATION  DIVISION,COLLEGE PHONE EMAIL
Stephen Stoynoff

Academic Affairs: Graduate Studies & Research 

 1333

 stephen.stoynoff@mnsu.edu

Brian Martensen College of Science, Engineering & Technology: Dean   5998

brian.martensen@mnsu.edu

Teresa Wallace  

 

 

Academic Affairs:  Interim Associate VP for Undergraduate Education 

 

 1333 

 

 

teresa.wallace@mnsu.edu

 

 

 

 Academic Affairs: Library Services   

 

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

 

DEPARTMENT

 

PHONE

 

EMAIL

Dan Houlihan Center for Excellence in Scholarship and Research
 6308
daniel.houlihan@mnsu.edu
       
SUPPORT STAFF  DEPARTMENT PHONE EMAIL
Kristel Seth Research and Sponsored Programs
6652
kristel.seth@mnsu.edu
Jeane McGraw Research and Sponsored Programs
5275
jeane.mcgraw@mnsu.edu
 Julie Joerg Graduate Dean's Office
 1242
 julie.joerg@mnsu.edu